Top Ten

So despite a bunch of spite being thrown at the year-end-list phenomenon by some of the more ‘serious critics’ this year, I bring you my list of my favorite albums made in 2009.
Let me know what you think.

10. Kaito – Trust
kaito
Not exactly anything new for the Japanese producer, but man his music makes me feel good.

9. Black Moth Super Rainbow – Eating Us
Black Moth
Slightly less bubble-gum trippy drippy, but still just as weird as some of their older stuff. Dig.


8. City Center – City Center
city center
Yeah, yeah, pastoral, loop-based, and washed in reverb – it was kind of a big thing this year. City Center stood out for me.

7. Mountains – Choral
mountains
Just about the most harmonious drones to ever grace my ears. Bliss.

6. Fever Ray – Fever Ray
fever ray
Creepy, post-apocalyptic, tribal – these are all words I’ve used to describe this. Just like The Knife, but weirder, and a lot darker.

5. Telefon Tel Aviv – Immolate Yourself
TTA
Absolutely gorgeous, dulcet electronica from some of the sound’s pioneers. Sadly, Immolate Yourself is the duos coup de grace. Rest in peace, Charlie

4. Atlas Sound – Logos
Atlas Sound
Bradford Cox managed to reign in his Atlas Sound M.O. to release an album that combines about a hundred different influences into an enjoyable wash of poppy melodies and Cox’s own enigmatic swagger.

3. The xx – xx
xx
I’m a late comer to this one, but, about a month ago, this album hit me head on. It’s smooth, it’s sexy, and it’s shockingly mature for a group of 20 year olds.

2. Little Dragon – Machine Drums
little dragon
Oh man, this year’s finest showing of electopop. Basically a nordic viking on keyboards and an adorable japanese front woman combine their powers to produce some catchy-as-all-hell songs that sound less time-stamped than, say, the Phoenix album that came out this year.

1. Animal Collective – Merriweather Post Pavillion
AC
Yeah. I mean, everyone saw it coming. MPP basically soundtracked my entire year, and still garners numerous plays. It as a decade in the making, and honestly, who expects a band to come of age nearly 10 years after it’s inception. Bravo, Animal Collective, bravo.

3 Comments

Filed under musics

3 responses to “Top Ten

  1. Great picks. I have The xx at number 1 maybe for the decade.

  2. General Meow

    Dude, great choices. I love your taste in music. I hope we can jam together again someday. Miss ya dude. And I agree with the person above, XX was my #1 for 2009.

  3. Bill G

    We have the same top two. I’m glad we agree.

    ps…someone punch John in the brain.

Leave a Reply

